homepage logo

South’s Kelliher, Milford’s Monico earn POY honors

By Tom King - Staff Writer | Nov 20, 2019

Telegraph file photo by TOM KING Kara Kelliher helped lead Nashua South to a state title and was named Division I Player of the Year.

It was not only a banner fall locally for high school girls volleyball on the court with Nashua South’s Division I title, but in the New Hampshire High School Volleyball Coaches Association All-State selections as well.

Several locals made teams in all three divisions, but two were named Player of the Year.

Nashua South’s top hitter, senior Kara Kelliher, was named the Division I Player of the Year, while Milford’s Gabby Monico was named the Division II Player of the Year.

Local First Team players in Division I included Kelliher, her Nashua South teammate Cara Lecklider, and Hollis Brookline’s Sammie Sheppard.

Monico was obviously a First Team player in Division II while Campbell’s Jordan Kanaley made First Team in Division III.

But there were several locals in all three divisions making Second Team and Honorable Mention.

In Division II, Milford’s Steve Vetack was named JV Coach of the Year.

Here are the complete teams for all three divisions:


Player of the Year: Kara Kelliher, Nashua South.

Coach of the Year: Ben Molnar, Winnacunnet.

JV Coach of the Year: Katie Rebrovich, Dover.

First Team: Sammie Sheppard, Hollis Brookline; Kara Kelliher, Nashua South; Cara Lecklider, Nashua South; Caleigh O’Connell, Bedford; Rachel Vitko, Dover; Ella Dandrade,Pinkerton; Corinne Lamond, Portsmouth; Lauren McCloskey, Salem; Audrey Simmons, Winnacunnet.

Second Team: Elizabeth Knapp, Bishop Guertin; Kaleigh Whalen, Hollis Brookline; Catherine Covert, Nashua South; Abby Coy, Nashua North; Julia Giroux, Bedford; Sierra Castonguay, Dover; Mia Whitehead, Dover; Samantha Wiberg, Exeter.

Honorable Mention: Emily Elston, Alvirne; Maren Anderson, Hollis Brookline; Alexis Miranda, Nashua North; Eli Omahen, Portsmouth; Kacie Blanchet, Salem; Lauren Mezquita, Timberlane; Cassie Faria, Windham.


Player of the Year: Gabby Monico, Milford.

Coach of the Year: Jonathan VanScoter, Plymouth.

JV Coach of the Year: Steve Vetack, Milford.

First Team: Gabby Monico, Milford; Abby Jerome, Coe-Brown; Niki Smith, Coe-Brown; Samantha Holland, Gilford; Riley McDonough, Gilford; Lillian Stogner, John Stark; Corinne Quaglieri, Oyster River; Mia Sullivan, Plymouth; Mayson Buchalski, St. Thomas.

Second Team: Kailyn Chamberlain, Milford; Kaydee Mann, Milford; Robyn Krafft, Milford; Abby Warren, Gilford; Riley Lord, John Stark; Maddie Ward, Kingswood; Maggie Sylvester, Oyster River; Abby Bassingthwaite, Plymouth; Emily Ferland, Somersworth.

Honorable Mention: Katerina Stuopis, Souhegan; Lindsey Sanderson, Gilford; Willet Parkins, Hanover; Izabella Nelson, John Stark; Savanna Marston, Plymouth; Kateri True, St. Thomas.


Player of the Year: Emma Wheeler, Inter-Lakes.

Coach of the Year: Randy Mattson, Inter-Lakes.

JV Coach of the Year: Karen Gibson, Mascenic.

First Team: Jordan Kanaley, Campbell; Oakley Lustenberger, Epping; Chloe Weeks, Farmington; Emma Wheeler, Inter-Lakes; Sarah Shannon, Moultonborough; Bailey Fairbank, Newfound; Julia Leavitt, Prospect Mountain; Gabby Isabelle, Winnisquam.

Second Team: Rebecca Camire, Belmont; Haley Treamer, Belmont; Jasmyne Bickford, Epping; Haley Maynard, Farmington; Jaden Horrocks, Mascenic; Jordan Ingoldsby, Prospect Mountain; Tess Palin, Sunapee; Chloe Colarusso, Winnisquam.

Honorable Mention: Mallory Reczko, Campbell; Hayley Pelletier, Epping; Vladislava Anashkina, Kennett; Aubrey Smart, Moultonborough; Paulina Huckins, Newfound; Gwen West, Prospect Mountain; Olivia Dill, Winnisquam.


Join thousands already receiving our daily newsletter.