homepage logo

Two Merrimack schoolhouses added to National Schoolhouse Registry

By Staff | May 19, 2024

MERRIMACK – In recognition of their importance in America’s educational history, Merrimack Schoolhouses three and 12 were recently added to the National Schoolhouse Registry.

A plaque unveiling ceremony will be held on June 1 at 10 a.m. at Schoolhouse number three, 10 Depot St.

Originally located at 632 Daniel Webster Hwy., Schoolhouse number three was expanded to two rooms and was moved to its current location on Depot Street in the 1970s.

The building sits on the site of the former McGaw Institute, which later became Merrimack’s first high school, still called McGaw.

Schoolhouse number 12 is located at 520 Boston Post Rd. The schoolhouse was opened in 1847 and closed 100 years later when it was sold to the Community Club.

Through its National Schoolhouse Registry Program, the County School Association of America recognizes school buildings that contribute to the appreciation and understanding of the rural school experience. Markers are awarded to school buildings that are at least 50 years old, have been restored, renovated or reconstructed to retain the integrity of their original design and are well maintained.

It is the hope of the CSAA that this registry and marker will not only serve to identify school buildings of historical and/or architectural significance, but will also recognize preservation achievements and encourage the continuing care.


Join thousands already receiving our daily newsletter.

Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *