Cities tourney tees off Saturday

Ryan Brogan is a big fan of the Nashua Cities golf tournament. Not only is he the tournament director, but he’s also a former champion.

He’s really looking forward to the 57th annual tournament, with the first round teeing off Saturday, Sept. 10 at Green Meadow’s Jungle Course in Hudson, and the final round on Sunday, Sept. 11 at Nashua Country Club.

"We’ve really made a lot of changes over the last few years," Brogan said. "I think for the better. It’s definitely helped get more golfers involved."

Since taking over leadership of the event in 2011, one year after winning the championship, Brogan has enhanced the eligibility guidelines, including resident rules – members of local clubs are allowed to participate, even if they live outside the area. It helped to halt a steady decline in attendance and instead increased the field to 60 by his second year at the helm.

To be eligible for competition, golfers must meet either one of two requirements: a GHIN Index of 8.0 or less at either Green Meadow, Whip-Poor-Will, Souhegan Woods, The Overlook, Nashua Country Club, Sky Meadow Country Club, Passaconaway, Hidden Creek or Amherst Country Club; or a resident of Amherst, Nashua, Hollis, Hudson, Litchfield, Merrimack or Milford with a GHIN Index of 8.0 or less.

He’s also made it more enticing for the junior crowd, lowering entry fees, and actually allowing the first 12 juniors (18 and under) to play for free this year.

Perhaps the best change was turning the Nashua Cities into a charity event. This year, a portion of the entry fee will go towards a New Hampshire Make-A-Wish Foundation donation.

"That’s one of the most rewarding parts of this tournament," Brogan said. "We always have a group of competitive golfers at the top, then a mix of guys from all around the area having a fun weekend on the course with their friends. But it makes it even better to know we’re all contributing to a charitable organization."

Defending champion Josh Kibbe will lead the field of 60 players into the 36-hole stroke play event. Another notable is junior golfer Tommy Ethier, a Bishop Guertin senior and defending New Hampshire Interscholastic Athletic Association Division I champion.

There are are still a few spots open to join those two on the links, including a couple waived-fee Junior positions. Cost to enter the tournament is $110. In addition to the overall winner, the low Senior (50-plus) and Junior golfers will be recognized.

Questions and application inquiries can be emailed to Brogan at

Senior circuit

Tuesday marks the first day of the 45th New Hampshire Senior Championship at Montcalm Golf Club in Enfield.

The two-day, 36-hole, stroke-play event comes one week after Peter Beaulieu (Atkinson Country Club) won the New Hampshire Golf Association’s first Senior Match Play championship at the Country Club of New Hampshire in Sutton.

Beaulieu and match-play runner-up Bob Mielcarz (Concord CC), the 2005, 2010 and 2015 Senior champ, headline the field coming off of their 19-hole final.

Other notable golfers in the field are four-time Senior champ Phil Pleat (2011-14), of Nashua; John Esterbook (2006-07 Senior champ); Craig Steckowych, who recently qualified for the U.S. Senior Amateur; Danny Arvanitis; and Bob Landry.

During last week’s Senior Match Play event, Nashua’s Bob Grassetti earned runner-up honors in the First Flight, losing in an 18-hole final match to Bill Krueger (Concord CC).

NHWGA roundup

The New Hampshire Women’s Golf Association held four tournaments over the last two weeks.

? On Aug. 30, the Apple Hill Golf Club in East Kingston played host to 79 women in an A Division Tournament.

First Gross: Deb Clauson.

Second Gross: Candi Cosgrove.

Third Gross: Joan Cyr.

Fourth Gross: Cindy Perkins (Nashua).

Fifth Gross: Carla Ringer, Karen McBarron.

Sixth Gross: Linda Brink and Marguerite Francis.

First Net: Carrie Letellier and Elise Thornton.

Second Net: Fran Addorisio and Nancy Lamb.

Third Net: Cookie Gray (Litchfield) and Mary Kaltenbach.

Fourth Net: Carolann Constant, Jean Johnston and Pat Upham.

Fifth Net: Donna Harvey.

Sixth Net: Cecelia DeMarco, Jane Cumming and Maureen Duggan.

Closest to the Pin: No. 2 Lori Brooks (Nashua), No. 4 Janet Quintero, No. 11 Karen Massahos, No. 14 Deirdre Rogusky (Amherst) and No. 17 Karen McBarron.

? Eighty-six women in the B Division played that same day at Londonderry Country Club.

First Gross: Carla Mowers.

Second Gross: Carol McCann and Janet Gearan.

Third Gross: Anita Aubin, Gina Marsh, June Bridgewater (Amherst), Pam Horne and Shirley Whitehouse.

Fourth Gross: Cheryl Kelly, Pauline Peltak (Merrimack) and Sharen Fuller.

First Net: Irene Vantine (Nashua), Kate Messinger and Nancy Lewis.

Second Net: Sandy Bradshaw (Merrimack).

Third Net: Kathy Belair and Pauline Sarette.

Fourth Net: Ladonna Harris and Lucille Jacobson.

? On Aug. 23, a 107-B Division field played at Pembroke Pines.

First Gross: Gina Marsh.

Second Gross: Lolita Williams.

Third Gross: Carol Morris Rivard and Kathy Low.

Fourth Gross: Pauline Peltak (Merrimack).

Fifth Gross: Kathryn McCarthy.

Sixth Gross: Annette Goddard and Barb Beers.

First Net: Anne Lathe (Merrimack), Connie Manus, Janet Gearan and Virginia Sinclair.

Second Net: Pam Lapointe and Shirley Whitehouse.

Third Net: Carol Berezin and Ingrid Willikens.

Fourth Net: Priscilla Sinclair (Nashua) and Ruth Demers.

Fifth Net: Donna Nicoll and Jacqueline Sweezy.

Sixth Net: Connie Stone, Elaine Eno, Lorraine Lee and Sharen Fuller.

Closest to the Pin: No. 4 Annette Goddard, No. 6 Maureen Power, No. 13 Cathy Jacques and No. 16 Sherry Osgood.

? On Aug. 23, the 93-player field for the A Division took to the Country Club of New Hampshire course in Sutton.

First Gross: Dana Harrity.

Second Gross: Beth Hamilton and Betsy Knights.

Third Gross: June Ferland.

Fourth Gross: Corey Richardson and Debi McGrath.

Fifth Gross: Joan Cyr.

First Net: Cindy Perkins (Nashua), Denise Dunn and Mary Kaltenbach.

Second Net: Rowena Wilks.

Third Net: Barbara Borsa and Helen Roberts-Beaver.

Fourth Net: Cookie Hood, Donna Harvey, Elise Thornton, Melissa Harman and Melissa Laaspere.

Fifth Net: Janet Perry Quintero, Jean Johnston, Kim Miller, Lisa Cummings, Pat Upham and Susan Brassard (Hollis).

Closest to the Pin: Pat Flynn, Melissa Harman, Paula Ellis and Karen Massahos.

Souhegan Woods champs

Souhegan Woods in Amherst held its Club Championship Aug. 20-21 with a 36-hole stroke play event.

Defending champions Diane Doran and Kevin Gaynor retained their titles.

Doran won the Women’s Division, while Mary Jane Cormier and Sherrie Vail finished second and third.

Jean Macleod was first net finisher, followed by Kate Plunkett and Diana Woodward.

Gaynor won the Men’s Division, with Gary Laliberte and Allen Pattee tying for second, and Curt Graham and Ryan Nichols tying for fourth.

Tim Sullivan was the Championship Flight net winner, followed by Mike Vail, Dan Joyal and Tim Noel.

First Flight net winner Jim Davis was followed by Mark Wessinger, Dave Leclaire and Doug Lynch.

Closest to the Pin Day 1: No. 3 Karen McKeen, No. 8 Steve Miron, No. 11 Greg Tribou, No. 17 Steve Miron.

Closest to the Pin Day 2: No. 3 Jeff Stillson, No. 8 Eric Kostecki, No. 11 John Sterling, No. 17 Dave Agans.

The Local Golf Journal is a regular feature in The Telegraph. To discuss a potential journal topic or to report charity tournaments and aces, contact George Scione at 594-6520, or @Telegraph_BigG.