First signs of ski season starting are here

Okay, I now know for a fact I’m the only one thinking that there’s going to be snow on our mountains soon (but not nearly soon enough). I have two incontrovertible pieces of evidence supporting this idea.

First, on Aug. 31, while most of us were preparing to paddle, pedal, swim, surf or hike away that precious last weekend of meteorological summer, Bolton Valley in Bolton, Vt., held its second “Labor Of Love Rail Jam.” I believe this was the first “on-snow” event of the 2012-13 ski and ride season in New England.

They trucked in shavings from the local ice rink, set up a rail with a semi-frozen in-run and landing strip on the nice, smooth tennis courts at the Bolton Sports Center and let the grinders have at it. Yeah, it only lasted an hour, but how long do you expect snow to last in August? Still, it was a short, sweet taste of what’s to come.

Whaleback Mountain in Enfield has been holding their “Summer Jib” series on what they call “The Beach” at Whaleback all summer long, but they use an artificial sliding surface instead of trucked-in snow. Fun, but without snow it doesn’t count. Their last Summer Jib event was Sept. 1. They are looking forward to real snow, too.

Get season pass savings now

The second piece of evidence I have that snow is on the way are the great pre-season deals being offered on season passes. If you are going to be skiing this winter – you know you are, you even skied through the disaster that was last winter – now is the time to save big dollars on a pass at your favorite ski hill.

Here’s a list of when the deals disappear. Hurry, snow is coming for real and the prices are only going to go up.

Maine

Mount Abram (mountabram.com): Prices go up Oct. 9.

Saddleback (saddlebackmaine.com): Prices go up Oct. 9..

Sugarloaf (sugarloaf.com): Prices go up Oct. 9.

Sunday River (sundayriver.com): Prices go up Oct. 9.

New Hampshire

Attitash (attitash.com): Prices go up Oct. 9

Black Mountain (blackmt.com): Prices go up Oct. 1.

Bretton Woods (brettonwoods.com): Prices go up Dec. 1.

Cannon Mountain (cannonmt.com): Prices go up Dec. 15.

Cranmore Mountain Resort (cranmore.com): Prices go up Dec. 1.

Crotched Mountain (crotchedmountain.com): Prices go up Oct. 16.

Dartmouth Skiway (dartmouth.edu/~skiway): Prices go up Oct. 1.

Gunstock Mountain (gunstock.com): Prices go up Nov. 4.

Granite Gorge (granitegorge.com): TBA.

King Pine (kingpine.com): Prices go up Nov. 1.

Loon Mountain Resort (loonmtn.com): Prices go up Oct. 8.

Mount Sunapee Resort (mtsunapee.com): Prices go up Oct. 9.

Pats Peak (patspeak.com): Prices go up Nov. 5.

Waterville Valley (waterville.com): Prices go up Dec. 1.

Whaleback Mountain (whaleback.com): Prices go up Sept. 24.

Wildcat Mountain (skiwildcat.com): Prices go up Oct. 9.

Vermont

Bolton Valley (boltonvalley.com): Prices go up Sept. 24.

Bromley Mountain (bromley.com): Prices go up Oct. 15.

Burke Mountain (skiburke.com): Prices go up Oct. 15.

Jay Peak Resort (jaypeakresort.com): Prices go up Oct. 16.

Killington Mountain Resort (killington.com): Prices go up Oct. 12.

Mad River Glen (madriverglen.com): Prices go up Oct. 16.

Magic Mountain (magicmtn.com): Prices go up Oct. 9.

Mount Snow (mountsnow.com): Prices go up Oct. 9

Okemo Mountain Resort (okemo.com): Prices go up Oct. 9.

Pico Mountain (picomountain.com): Prices go up Oct. 12.

Smugglers Notch (smuggs.com): Prices go up Nov. 1.

Stratton Mountain Resort (stratton.com): Prices go up Oct. 9.

Sugarbush Resort (sugarbush.com): Prices go up Sept. 13.

Tim Jones can be reached at
timjones@easternslopes.com.