Milford’s Guarniere heads All-State volleyball locals

Staff photo by HECTOR LONGO Milford's Julia Guarniere was so impressive as the Spartans' libero she was named the Division II All-State Player of the Year.

They didn’t win a title, but one of their players did.

The Milford High School girls volleyball team fell to Gilford in the Division II title match last weekend, but on Friday Spartan libero Julia Guarniere was named the Division II Player of the Year as the New Hampshire Volleyball Coaches Association All-State Team was announced.

Several local players are on the team. First teamers included in Division I Hollis Brookline’s Maddie Norris and Kyra Belden, plus Nashua South’s Kara Kelliher. Guarniere and Spartan teammate Gabriella Monico, plus Souhegan’s Katie O’Brien were Division II First Teamers, and Campbell’s Olivia Garand was on the Division III First Team.

Also of local note, Nashua South junior varsity coach Kim Baron was named JV Coach of the Year.

Here’s the three division team in its entirety:


First Team – Paola Matos, Bishop Guertin; Kate Murphy, Dover; Sydney Johnson, Exeter, Maddie Norris, Hollis Brookline; Kyra Belden, Hollis Brookline; Kara Kelliher, Nashua South; Amelia Graves, Pinkerton; Corrinne Lamond, Portsmouth; Leah Creteau, Spaulding.

Second Team – Emily Adams, Bedford; Jordan Starace, Bedford; Julia Pascussi, Bishop Guertin; Kelsey Peirce, Exeter; Liz Atkinson, Hollis Brookline; Maddie Sanborn, Londonderry; Atlanta Ho, Nashua North; Anna Campbell, Nashua South; Lauren McCloskey, Salem; Taylor Sawyer, Windham.

Honorable Mention— Anna Cartelli, Dover; Sammie Sheppard, Hollis Brookline; Brianna Henderson, Nashua South; Leya Wang, Pinkerton; Taylor Vartanian, Salem;

Jalen Winfrey, Spaulding; Sam Carrigan, Timberlane.

Player of the Year: Leah Creteau, Spaulding

Coach of the Year: Anna McGann, Bedford

JV Coach of the Year: Kim Baron, Nashua South.


First Team – Julia Guarniere, Milford; Gabriella Monico, Milford; Maggie McNeil, Gilford; Karly Sanborn, Gilford; Alexis Boisvert, Gilford; Hannah Dow, Laconia; Cassidy Gibb, Oyster River; Katie O’Brien, Souhegan; Emma Gould, St. Thomas.

Second Team – Maggie Sylvester, Coe-Brown; Riley Lord, John Stark; Lillian Stogner, John Stark; Avy Bartlett, Laconia; Emily Flaherty, Milford; Isabel Philbrick, Milford; Kathryn Cohen, Oyster River; Corinne Quaglieri, Oyster River, Madyson Buchalski, St. Thomas.

Honorable Mention – Abby Jerome, Coe-Brown; Samantha Holland, Gilford; Bella Collins, Hanover; Maddie Ward, Kingswood; Caitlin Beattie, Laconia; Ciara O’Brien, Plymouth; Anja Swanson, Plymouth.

Player of The Year: Julia Guarniere, Milford.

Coach of the Year: Mary Ann Myers, Laconia.

JV Coach of the Year: Sadie Moore, Oyster River.


First Team – Oliva Garand, Campbell; Katie Martineau, Farmington; Emma Wheeler, Inter-Lakes; Jessalyn Brown, Inter-Lakes; Maddie Perrotti, Moultonborough; Ashlee Dukette, Newfound; Emilee Flanagan, Nute; Shannon Goodwin, Winnisquam; Gabby Isabelle, Winnisquam.

Second Team – Oakley Lustenberger, Epping; Tatyana Long, Farmington; Chloe Weeks, Farmington; Hailey Hart, Inter-Lakes; Shannon Agonis, Mascenic; Jess Lear, Moultonborough; Jordan Ingoldsby, Prospect Mountain; Aubrey St. Onge, Winnisquam; Olivia Dill, Winnisquam.

Honorable Mention – Jordan Kanaley, Campell; Gabrielle Hughes, Epping; Haley Maynard, Farmington; Allie Stockman, Prospect Mountain; Alexis Miller, Sunapee, Tess Palin, Sunapee.

Player of The Year: Emilee Flanagan, Nute

Coach of the Year: Mike Livernois, Winnisquam.

JV Coach of the Year: Kevin Archibald, Winnisquam.