Brackett, Newton head local list for All-State Boys Volleyball

Staff file photo by TOM KING Hollis Brookline's Jonathan Brackett, who leads his team into Tuesday's quarterfinals, was among a handful of locals named to the 2018 All-State team.

Hollis Brookline’s Jonathan Brackett and Bishop Guertin’s Nate Newton were named to the First Team and Cavaliers coach Ed Leonard was named Coach of the Year as the All-State Boys Volleyball Team was announced.

HB’s Scott VanCoughnett was named to the second team along with Bishop Guertin’s Jake Wizboski. The only other local named to the team was Guertin’s Connor Ogorchock, who made Third Team.

Timberlane’s Sam Hovan was named Player of The Year.

Here is the entire team:

First Team – Sam Hovan, Timberlane; Micah Howard, Mascenic; Jonathan Brackett, Hollis Brookline; Nate Newton, Bishop Guertin; Nick Kasprzack, Windham; Nick Hayes, Salem; Matt Perry, Timberlane; Hunter Hazard, Pinkerton; Noah Rapazzo, Goffstown.

Second Team – Luke Leonard, Windham; Sean Galusha, Pinkerton;Tyler Beshman, Pinkerton; Scott VanCoughnett, Hollis Brookline; Neil Rea, Windham; Brian Castle, Pinkerton; Ryan Greeley, Salem; Jake Wizboski, Bishop Guertin; Roman Fabrizio, Salem.

Third Team – Issac Borges, Goffstown; Connor Ross, Timberlane; Connor Ogorchock, Bishop Guertin;Buttafuoco, Londonderry; Ryan Peace, Goffstown; Jake Schaake, Winnacunnet.

Player of the Year: Sam Hovan, Timberlane.

Coach of the Year: Ed Leonard, Hollis Brookline.

Co-JV Coaches of the Year: Wayne Siejkowski, Timberlane; Amanda Lemanager, Pinkerton; Jeff Costa, Windham.