Hillsborough County Attorney Hogan loses re-election bid; races competitive

NASHUA – Voters chose a new Hillsborough County attorney during the Tuesday general election, as results show Democrat Michael Conlon narrowly defeated incumbent Republican Dennis Hogan.

By Wednesday afternoon, results released by the New Hampshire Secretary of State’s Office indicated close races up and down the local ballot for Hillsborough County.

Conlon came out on top in his race with 77,819 votes. He thanked his wife for her support during this campaign. He wants the residents of Hillsborough County to know he will work hard to prove they made the right choice.

Additionally, he thanked Hogan – who took 76,161 votes – for his years of service to the office.

“Today, our law enforcement has a new partner, our prosecutors have a new leader to join them in their work, and our victims have a supporter who cares about and believes them,” Conlon said in a Facebook message.

Also, incumbent county Commissioner Paul Bergeron, a Democrat, won his race with 25,137 votes.

His challenger, Republican Mike Soucy, tallied 22,475.

“I did better than expected, even though I lost Hudson, Litchfield and Pelham,” Bergeron said.

Still, Bergeron said he did better in those towns than he did in 2016 and is happy with the results.

Additionally, County Commissioner Robert Rowe, a Republican, faced off with Democratic challenger Steve Spratt. Rowe narrowly came out on top with 29,765 votes compared to Spratt’s 28,754 tallies.

Hillsborough County Sheriff James Hardy, a Republican, faced a stiff challenge from Democrat Bill Barry and Libertarian Aaron Day. Once the results came in, Hardy ended up taking the win with 75,268 votes. Barry had 73,636 votes, while Day took 6,669.

Hillsborough County Treasurer David Fredette, a Republican, took on Democratic candidate William Bryk. Fredette won with 79,706 votes, compared to Bryk’s 73,194.

In the race for Register of Probate, Republican Joseph Levasseur faced Democratic challenger Elizabeth Ropp. In the end, Ropp won with 79,378 votes compared to Levasseur’s 74,166.

Adam Urquhart can be reached at 594-1206, or aurquhart@nashuatelegraph.com.