Wednesday, February 22, 2017
My Account  | Login
Nashua-BoireFieldAirport;37.0;;2017-02-22 07:47:46
Tuesday, March 13, 2012

Not much on the plate of Brookline voters for Town Meeting Tuesday

BROOKLINE – Brookline voters don’t have much of a job in terms of electing officers at this year’s Town Meeting.

Only one of the 12 positions going before voters Tuesday has more than one person running.

The only race on the ballot is a four-person contest for three seats on the town’s Finance Committee.

Incumbents Betty Hall, vice chairwoman of the committee, and Richard Pocklington, who filled a vacant seat on the committee for the past six months, are taking on Linda Chomiak and Dennis Skey.

Hall, Pocklington and Skey all said they favored changing the committee into a budget committee in their responses to The Telegraph’s candidate questionnaires, although Pocklington said it should be done over two to three years.

Budget committees have more authority to set budgetary guidelines than a finance committee, which simply advises the Board of Selectmen on budgetary issues.

Eleven other positions up for grabs have just one interested candidate, including John Carr, who is running unopposed for the Board of Selectmen. Carr will fill the three-year term vacated by Tad Putney, who announced earlier this year that he wouldn’t run for re-election.

Other unopposed races include:

Peter Webb for a two-year term as moderator.

Marcia Farwell for a three-year term on the Board of Assessors.

Gerald Farwell for a one-year term as road agent.

Russell Heinselman for a one-year term as treasurer.

David Santuccio for a three-year term as fire ward.

Christina Pocklington for a two-year term on the Recreation Commission.

Richard Vertullio Jr. for a three-year term on the Recreation Commission.

Louise Price for a three-year term as a library trustee.

Edward Zadravec for a three-year term as a town trustee.

Linda Saari for a six-year term as a supervisor of the checklist.

Joseph G. Cote can be reached at 594-6415 or Also follow Cote on Twitter (@Telegraph_JoeC).