HB divided on president, heavily Republican in state, local races

Hollis and Brookline were divided in choosing a presidential candidate Tuesday, though the majority of residents in both towns were in agreement down the remainder
of the ballot.

In Hollis, 2,529 people voted for Hillary Clinton, while 2,310 voted for Trump. Brookline leaned slightly toward Trump, giving him 1,501 votes to Clinton’s 1,417.

As for the remainder of the national race, Republicans swept the tickets in both towns.

In the senatorial race, the majority of voters in both towns went for incumbent Republican Kelly Ayotte over Democrat Maggie Hassan: 2,738 Hollis voters chose Ayotte, while 2,323 went for Hassan and 1,727 Brookline residents voted for Ayotte, and 1,317 chose Hassan.

For the open governor’s seat, both towns chose Republican Chris Sununu over Democrat Colin Van Ostern. In Hollis, 2,671 went for Sununu and 2,257 for Van Ostern while 1,715 Brookline residents voted for Sununu and 1,290 went for Van Ostern.

And in the battle for the state’s 2nd District seat in the U.S. House of Representatives, the majority of Hollis and Brookline residents alike prefered Republican Jim Lawrence over Democratic incumbent Annie Kuster. In Hollis, 2,577 voted for Lawrence, while 2,310 chose Kuster; 1,656 Brookline residents cast their ballot for Lawrence, while 1,303 went for Kuster.

In the state representative race, Hollis residents voted in either Hillsborough District 27 or 40.

Hollis residents in District 27 elected Republicans Jim Belanger (2,964) and Carolyn Gargasz (2,651) over Democrats Thomas Harris (1,807) and Art Sweed (1,531).

As for the one seat in District 40, Hollis residents chose Republican Keith Ammon (2,438) over Democrat Kat McGhee (2,327). Ammon also won the district overall.

In the state representative contest for Hillsborough District 26, Brookline residents cast 1,518 votes for Democrat Melanie Levesque and 1,494 for Republican John Joseph Carr over Republican John Lewicke (1,437) and Democrat Gale Taylor (1,248). Nevertheless, Republicans John Joseph Carr and John Lewicke won the district

For the state Senate District 12, Hollis residents chose Democrat Peggy Gilmour (2,630) over Republican Kevin Avard (2,371), while Brookline residents preferred Avard (1,614) over Gilmour (1,425). Avard won the district overall.

And for Executive Council’s District 5, Hollis residents chose David Wheeler, of Milford, (2,685) over Nashua Democrat Dan Weeks (2,090), with Brookline following suit and casting 1,751 votes for Wheeler and 1,223 for Weeks. Wheeler also won the district overall.

Derek Edry can be reached at 594-6589, dedry@nashuatelegraph.com or @Telegraph_Derek.